the duck at zumba

January 3, 2017

Hello and Happy New Year! Highlights of the last week of 2016:

-Visiting the pyramids at Teotihuacan with in-laws.

-Visiting a neighbor’s cat, Coco, whom I love dearly. He’s white with one hazel eye and one blue eye. I met Coco after the neighbor rescued him from the street a year ago. He sleeps on the roof of the house and I like to go find him in the mornings to say hello. He can’t jump from the roof to the street because it’s too high, so I hold up my arms toward the roof, he crawls down my arms, greeting me with a kiss on the nose, and purrs as I hold him. After a few minutes, I hold my arms back up toward the roof and he goes back to his spot.

-Attending the Mexico City temple with Waldir and feeling an outpouring of love and gratitude for Jesus Christ.

-Attending El Rey León (the Lion King) musical in Mexico City. We found a deal for tickets and although we didn’t get to sit together, we were in the 5th row! I loved that I could see the details of the costumes and the facial expressions of the actors. The Lion King speaks to my soul, and I was so happy to be seeing the musical that I cried a little during the opening number (I was definitely having a spiritual moment). I loved the performance, and so did Waldir! Plus it was fantastic to hear it in Spanish.

-The Flores side of the family rang in the new year with a BANG. But the New Year’s Eve party only went until 4 a.m. (not 6 a.m. like last year). Around 11:30 p.m. I decided to take a nap but by the time I got up at 2:00 a.m. ready to party, the rest of the crew was winding down. Waldir and I danced salsa and bachata for a few songs but he was exhausted. By 3:30 a.m. the entire family was slumping or sleeping on couches and chairs.

-Speaking of dancing: this morning, my mom-in-law, sister-in-law, and I went to the local park and joined an outdoor Zumba class, which was a blast even though I couldn’t keep up (the instructor started filming us live-stream on facebook and I was not happy—people who saw that gringa in the back must have thought, “What is she doing?” The answer is: I don’t know). Anyway, funny story: Throughout this class there was a duck hanging out right by the speaker. He just sat there and enjoyed the music, I guess. Periodically throughout the class, the instructor used an ipad to change the song. At the end of the class the instructor picked up the ipad to choose a slow song for us to cool down; he set the ipad back down and started dancing, and we followed. Suddenly as we started dancing to this song, the music changed—we looked toward the speaker where the duck was, and low and behold: that duck was pecking the ipad and CHANGING THE MUSIC! Apparently he was content with a faster song by Shakira. He moved his wings as if he were dancing, then turned around to watch us finish our class! I wouldn’t believe it if I weren’t there. One of the funniest things I’ve seen in my life.

Here’s to 2017! I’ll take as many cute cats and ducks and happy musicals as I can get this year.

Leave a Reply

